UMD iSchool Alumnus, Julius Jefferson Jr. Wins 2020-2021 ALA Presidency

iSchoolNews - April 11, 2019

UMD iSchool Alumnus, Julius Jefferson Jr. Wins 2020-2021 ALA Presidency

Jefferson Wins 2020-2021 ALA Presidency
Original Story by American Libraries

headshot of Julius C. Jefferson Jr.Julius C. Jefferson Jr., section head of the Congressional Research Service at the Library of Congress in Washington, D.C., has been elected president-elect of the American Library Association (ALA).

Jefferson received 5,108 votes, while his opponent, Lance Werner, executive director of Kent District Library in Comstock Park, Michigan, received 3,011 votes.

As ALA president, Jefferson will be the chief elected officer for the oldest and largest library association in the world. He will serve as president-elect for one year before stepping into his role as president at the close of the 2020 ALA Annual Conference in Chicago.

Upon learning the outcome of the election, Jefferson remarked, “It is an immense honor to be elected 2020–2021 president of the American Library Association. I am both humbled and appreciative of the confidence you have demonstrated in my ability to lead ALA in the service of libraries and library workers. I look forward to building our brand, focusing on the value of library workers, and advocating for the essential work being done to support our libraries. Together we will collaborate to strengthen our core values of equity, diversity, and inclusion; advocacy; leadership and professional development; and information policy, and address the internal and external challenges. It is my vision that together we will transform ALA into a modern library association, ensuring that libraries remain at the center of public engagement and enrich the lives of the communities we serve.”

An active member of ALA for 15 years, Jefferson currently serves on and has been a member of ALA Council since 2011, and most recently completed a three-year term on the ALA Executive Board (2015–2018). He has also served on a number of critical committees, including the Finance and Audit Committee (2017–2018); the Budget Analysis and Review Committee (2014–2018); the Intellectual Freedom Committee (2010–2014), serving as the 2010–2011 chair; and is currently chair of the Chapter Relations Committee, as well as on numerous other committees and task forces of the Association.

Read more