Events

Talk: Quo Vadis, Digital Privacy? Perceptions, Practices, and Policies

Event Start Date: Thursday, January 26, 2023 - 11:00 am

Event End Date: Thursday, January 26, 2023 - 12:45 pm

Location: Virtual EST

Add to Calendar Thursday, January 26, 2023 11:00 am Thursday, January 26, 2023 12:45 pm America/New York Talk: Quo Vadis, Digital Privacy? Perceptions, Practices, and Policies

Join the UMD SoDa Center, BERD@NFDI, and Transatlantic Privacy Perceptions (TAPP) for special presentation in celebration of Privacy Day. This is a free, virtual event, open to the public. Registration required.

Program:

11:00 am EST / 5:00 pm CET
The Diversity of Transatlantic Stakeholders’ Privacy Perceptions: Results from TAPP

  • Jessica Vitak (University of Maryland)
  • Leah von der Heyde (LMU Munich)
  • Zothan Mawii (University of Maryland)

11:40 am EST / 5:40 pm CET
Privacy in Practice: Enhancing Privacy Literacy through an interactive Virtual Assistant (iVA)

  • Markus Herklotz (LMU Munich)
  • Vasilka Stovilova (University of Mannheim)

12:00 pm EST / 6:00 pm CET
Panel Discussion: How to Balance Data Sharing and Data Protection in the Development and Use of AI?

  • Alena Buyx (TUM)
  • Kobbi Nissim (Georgetown University)
  • Philipp Räther (Allianz)
  • Moderator: Frauke Kreuter (LMU Munich & University of Maryland)
Virtual EST

Join the UMD SoDa Center, BERD@NFDI, and Transatlantic Privacy Perceptions (TAPP) for special presentation in celebration of Privacy Day. This is a free, virtual event, open to the public. Registration required.

Program:

11:00 am EST / 5:00 pm CET
The Diversity of Transatlantic Stakeholders’ Privacy Perceptions: Results from TAPP

  • Jessica Vitak (University of Maryland)
  • Leah von der Heyde (LMU Munich)
  • Zothan Mawii (University of Maryland)

11:40 am EST / 5:40 pm CET
Privacy in Practice: Enhancing Privacy Literacy through an interactive Virtual Assistant (iVA)

  • Markus Herklotz (LMU Munich)
  • Vasilka Stovilova (University of Mannheim)

12:00 pm EST / 6:00 pm CET
Panel Discussion: How to Balance Data Sharing and Data Protection in the Development and Use of AI?

  • Alena Buyx (TUM)
  • Kobbi Nissim (Georgetown University)
  • Philipp Räther (Allianz)
  • Moderator: Frauke Kreuter (LMU Munich & University of Maryland)

Register