Beth St Jean

Availability to Accept New PhD Students:

This faculty member is currently accepting Ph.D. students

Beth St. Jean

Associate Professor
 Hornbake Building (South Wing), Room 4117-K

Beth St. Jean is an Associate Professor in the College of Information Studies. She holds a PhD and an MS in Information from the University of Michigan School of Information. Beth teaches classes in the BSIS, MLIS, and PhD programs, particularly focusing on information behavior, research methods, consumer health informatics, and strategies for assisting people with their needs for information. In her research, Beth aims to improve people’s long-term health outlooks by exploring the important interrelationships between their health-related information behaviors, their health literacy, their health-related self-efficacy, and their health behaviors. Her most current research focuses on consumer health information justice, aiming to identify the information-related causes of, and potential solutions to, health disparities. Beth and two of her colleagues at the iSchool, Ursula Gorham and Beth Bonsignore, just published a new undergraduate textbook on information behavior:

For a 30% discount, enter code ‘RLFANDF30’

Dr. St. Jean’s CV


  • ASIS&T (Association for Information Science & Technology) SIG-USE (Special Interest Group on Information Needs, Seeking, and Use) Innovation Award, 2017
  • ACM (Association for Computing Machinery) SIGCHI (Special Interest Group on Computer-Human Interaction) Excellent Reviewer Recognition, 2017
  • ALISE (Association for Library and Information Science Education)/LMC (Library Media Connection) Paper Award, 2015
  • Beta Phi Mu/LRRT (Library Research Round Table) Research Paper Award, 2014
  • iConference Exceptional Reviewer Award, 2014
  • ALISE/ProQuest Methodology Paper Award, 2013
  • Winner of the ALISE/Jean Tague-Sutcliffe Doctoral Student Research Poster Competition, 2011
  • Rackham Graduate School Predoctoral Fellowship, 2010-2011
  • ASIS&T Best Paper Award, 2010
  • Gary M. Olson Outstanding Ph.D. Student Award, 2008-2009