UMD iSchool Excellence Award Winners 2019-2020 Announced


Recipients of the college's awards recognizing excellence in student leadership, teaching, and staff support are announced.

UMD iSchool News

The University of Maryland College of Information Studies (UMD iSchool) is pleased to announce the winners of the 2019-2020 UMD iSchool Excellence Awards. Congratulations to all of the awardees for their outstanding contributions. 

  • Undergraduate Student Leadership Award for Academic Peer Mentorship (2019-2020) - awarded to Lana Dove and Ian Zheng for their outstanding contributions toward mentoring their fellow undergraduate students in the InfoSci program.
  • Students’ Choice Teaching Awards (2019-2020) - awarded to Daniel Greene (undergraduate teaching and Bria Parker (graduate teaching) for their outstanding positive impacts on students’ learning in the iSchool.
  • Instructional Innovation Award (2019-2020) - awarded to Alex Leitch for their innovative work across and beyond their courses, including INST 711 Interaction Design Studio (Spring 2020) and INST 639C Practical Skills in HCI; Makerspace (Fall 2019 & Spring 2020).
  • William G. Wilson Staff Excellence Award (2020) - awarded to Marivel Soria (Senior Undergraduate Program Advisor) and Melekte Truneh (Assistant Dean for Finance & Administration) for their embodiment of the “Bill Wilson Spirit” – their commitment to Maryland’s iSchool, its people and its mission; their helpfulness, capability, warmth, and generosity; and their willingness to help out with any situation, often before any problem might even be apparent.
Awards and Rankings Faculty & Staff iSchool News