iSchool Alumnus of the Year Event 2021

Event Start Date: Thursday, April 22, 2021 - 5:30 pm

Event End Date: Thursday, April 22, 2021 - 7:00 pm

iSchool alumni impact their professions and communities through leadership, expertise, and a commitment to excellence.

Join us on Thursday, April 22, 2021 from 5:30 – 7:00 PM (EST) for the virtual iSchool Alumnus of the Year Event. At this event, Dean Keith Marzullo will present the Distinguished Terrapin Award which recognizes individuals who excel in their field of expertise and provide value to the communities in which they serve. This award will be presented to the 2021 honoree, Julius C. Jefferson, Jr., MLS ’05, and the 2020 honoree, Dr. Jon E. Cawthorne, MLS ’93.

Additionally, we will have two guest speakers discussing updates on the library and information science activities occurring at the iSchool.


Julius C. JeffersonJulius C. Jefferson, Jr., MLS ’05
Julius C. Jefferson, Jr., is the Section Head of the Research and Library Services Section in the Foreign Affairs, Defense, and Trade Division at Congressional Research Service of the Library of Congress. He is currently the 2020-2021 President of the American Library Association (ALA). Julius earned his Master of Library Science (MLS) degree from the iSchool in 2005.

Jon E. CawthorneDr. Jon E. Cawthorne, MLS ’93
Dr. Jon E. Cawthorne is dean of the Wayne State University Library System and the Universitys School of Information Sciences. He earned his Master of Library Science (MLIS) degree from the iSchool in 1993, and holds a Ph.D. in managerial leadership in the information professions from Simmons College.


Ursula GorhamDr. Ursula Gorham
Senior Lecturer & Program Director Master of Library and Information (MLIS) program
College of Information Studies

Paul JaegerDr. Paul Jaeger
Professor, MLIS program Co-Director, Information Policy and Access Center (iPAC)
College of Information Studies

More Info & Registration

Community Events