iSchool Announces First MLS Advisory Board

iSchool Announces First MLS Advisory Board

The College of Information Studies at the University of Maryland, Maryland's iSchool, is pleased to announce the formation of the inaugural Advisory Board for the Master of Library Science (MLS) degree program. The Board comprises 17 leaders and students in the information professions who will guide the future development of the iSchool’s MLS program.

The context in which library, archive, and information professionals reside has changed significantly - and so too must the preparation that MLS programs provide. As part of a year-long initiative with the iSchool’s community, the Board’s first task will be to engage in a strategic “re-envisioning the MLS” discussion. "The University of Maryland’s iSchool is taking a leadership role in redefining MLS education, and the new Advisory Board will be a key part of the process," says John Bertot, director of the MLS program. “We cannot be more pleased to be able to work with such leaders in the field as we consider the future of MLS programs in general and our program in particular.”

Serving three-year terms, the members of the Board will:

  • Provide insights on how the MLS program can enhance the impact of its services on various stakeholder groups;
  • Provide advice and counsel on strategy, issues, and trends affecting the future of the MLS Program;
  • Strengthen relationships with libraries, archives, industry, and other key information community partners;
  • Provide input for assessing the progress of the MLS program;
  • Provide a vital link to the community of practice for faculty and students to facilitate research, inform teaching, and further develop public service skills;
  • Support the fundraising efforts to support the MLS program; and
  • Identify the necessary entry-level skills, attitudes and knowledge competencies as well as performance levels for target occupations.

"This new Advisory Board is an exciting milestone in MLS education at the iSchool," says Dean Jennifer Preece. "We are honored to be partnering with such a distinguished group of individuals within the information professions."

2014-2017 Advisory Board Members

Tahirah Akbar-Williams
Education and Information Studies Librarian; McKeldin Library, University of Maryland

Brenda Anderson
Elementary Integrated Curriculum Specialist; Montgomery County Public Schools

R. Joseph Anderson
Director, Niels Bohr Library and Archives; American Institute of Physics

Jay Bansbach
Program Specialist, School Libraries; Instructional Technology and School Libraries; Division of Curriculum, Assessment and Accountability; Maryland State Department of Education

Sue Baughman
Deputy Executive Director; Association of Research Libraries

Valerie Gross
President and CEO; Howard County Public Library

Lucy Holman
Director, Langsdale Library; University of Baltimore

Naomi House
Founder; I Need a Library Job (INALJ)

Alan Inouye
Director, Office for Information Technology Policy (OITP); American Library Association

Erica Karmes Jesonis
Manager, Web Services & Graphic Design; Cecil County Public Library

Irene Padilla
Assistant State Superintendent for Library Development and Services; Maryland State Department of Education

Katherine Simpson
Director of Strategy and Communication; American University Library

Lissa Snyders
MLS Candidate; University of Maryland iSchool

Pat Steele
Dean of Libraries; University of Maryland

Maureen Sullivan
Immediate Past President, American Library Association; Maureen Sullivan Associates

Joe Thompson
Senior Administrator, Public Services; Harford County Public Library

Paul Wester
Chief Records Officer for the Federal Government; National Archives and Records Administration