Scholarships | Maryland's iSchool - College of Information Studies - Masters Degree - University Of Maryland

Graduate School of Library and Information Science

College of Communications

School of Communication and Information

Masters Degree


Scholarship awards are subject to funding availability each year.

The Alumni Scholarships

are awarded annually to up to two students at the College of Information Studies who have completed at least nine credits. These are the Silver Anniversary Scholarship and the Founders Scholarship. The award will cover up to nine-credits of in-state tuition.

Beyond the Walls Student Travel Awards

Established in 2012, this fund provides financial support to allow students from any program at the College of Information Studies to attend local and national conferences, present research, and gain experience and exposure to professionals in our field. There are typically two application window every year - for the Fall and Spring semester. The award is up to $250 each.

The Frank G. Burke Fellowship

is awarded annually to one or more students who have completed their first year in the History and Library Science (HiLS) specialization in the MLS program with demonstrated interest in archives and record management. The award is up to $2,000.

The Helen A. Tegnell Memorial Scholarship

was established in December 1982 by a donation from Col. and Mrs. Russell M. Tegnell in memory of their daughter, Helen A. Tegnell, and to provide financial assistance to worthy students enrolled in the MLS or PhD programs in the College of Information Studies. The amount of the award(s) is up to $10,000.

The H.W. Wilson Scholarship

is supported through a grant from the H.W. Wilson Company. The scholarship is awarded periodically depending upon receipt of funding.

The Library Systems & Services, LLC Scholarship

was established the LSSI Scholarship Endowment in June 2000. This scholarship award is awarded to one or more part-time students pursuing any degree program at the college. The amount of the award is up to $2,000.

The Mary Lee Bundy Scholarship

was established in March 2007 by William G. Wilson to honor Dr. Bundy’s memory and her outstanding participation and influence in the Library and Information Services profession. This scholarship award is awarded annually to one MLS student planning on a career in public libraries. The amount of the award is up to $500.

MIM Alumni Scholarship

Established in 2012 by the alumni and friends of the MIM program, this fund provides academic support to a student enrolled in the MIM program based on financial need and academic excellence.

The Myra Wilson Scholarship

was established in 1999 in memory of Myra Wilson, a graduate from the College. It is awarded to a student preparing for a career in law librarianship, public library reference service or international librarianship. The amount of the award is up to $5000.

The Noyes Library Association Scholarship

was established in 1988 by the Noyes Library Association of Kensington, Maryland, and is awarded annually to one or more students with demonstrated financial need and an interest in children’s librarianship. The award is a stipend of approximately $2,000.